Former Comet stresses the details at Senior Sports Banquet

By John Burbridge

FLOYD — Aside from his presidential parodies on Saturday Night Live, actor Alec Baldwin is known for some other roles — like the heavy-handed office motivator in Glengarry Glen Ross.

While haranguing a group of burnt-out, underachieving real estate salesmen, Baldwin’s character used a chalkboard to emphasize “Always Be Closing”.

Former Charles City High School multisport star and 12-time letter winner Steve Domino didn’t quite give that speech while addressing the audience during the annual Charles City Comets Senior Sports Banquet, Tuesday at the Floyd County Youth Enrichment Center. But closing is something Domino has become adept at, as well as moving forward and making needed adjustments after doors to hoped-for paths have been closed on you.

After an injury derailed a promising football career, and his basketball tenure at Charles City ended in heartbreak when the highly ranked Comets fell short of state, Domino — a 2000 graduate who captained every Comet team he was on — continued his athletic career at Wartburg College, where he was the Knights’ closer on the baseball team, helping them to four straight conference titles.

He later began his business career with Wells Fargo before becoming the Chief Financial Officer for Bella Homes, a real estate developing company based in Des Moines.

Domino also serves as school board president for Ballard Community Schools.

“Always push yourself to become better … to move forward,” Domino said. “Hold yourself accountable and the people around you accountable.”

Domino mentioned that one of the keys to success lies in the details. Then he asked for a show of hands how many people, if they were to give an unexpected ride to someone, would not be embarrassed by the interior of their vehicle.

“Sometimes when we’re interviewing someone, we’ll have someone go out into the parking lot and take a peek inside their car,” he said.

Among the award recipients were Gavin Connell and Tayler Schmidt, who are both competing at the State Track and Field Championships. They were both honored with the Cec Mau Award, which is annually given to the school’s outstanding senior athletes.

Schmidt was also honored with the Sandy Schmidt Award.

Other award recipients included Noah Schlader (Pat LaBarge Award), Tylor Zuspan (Al Hastings Award), Dylan Salinas and Mackenzie Wilson (Jerry Hartwell Award), Nolan Loftus (Bernie Saggau Award), Macy Ross and Josh Halligan (Booster Club Award), Payton Reams and Theo Arndt (Stan White Award), and Rylee Hageman (Courage Award).

The Senior Spotlight Awards went to Amari Allen (Pom Squad), Ashlyn Bauer (Cheerleader), Kaleb Ross (Boys Bowling), Baili Girkin (Girls Bowling), John Perez (Boys Cross Country), Gillian King (Girls Cross Country), Hakeem Sharief (Boys Track), Sydney Loeckle (Girls Track), Cade Hemesath (Boys Basketball), Payton Reams (Girls Basketball), Carter Klatt (Boys Golf), Emma Williams (Girls Golf), Tre Walker (Football), Ben Miller (Baseball), Kelby Katcher (Softball), Sadie Ruzicka (Volleyball), Derek Milligan (Soccer), Mackenzie Wilson (Girls Tennis) and Josh Halligan (Wrestling).