Posted on

Charles City High School graduates 92 in Class of 2022

Charles City High School graduates 92 in Class of 2022
Members of the Charles City High School graduating class of 2022 throw their caps into the air at the completion of the commencement ceremony Sunday afternoon in the Comet Gym. Press photo by Bob Steenson
By Bob Steenson, [email protected]

Ninety-two students graduated from Charles City High School during commencement exercises held Sunday afternoon at Comet Gym.

Lydia Staudt was named as the class valedictorian, signifying the highest grade point average in the class, and Hannah Jones is the salutatorian, the second highest.

The academically distinguished (Top 10 grade point average) students in the Charles City High School Class of 2022 are Rachel Chambers, Chase Crooks, Rachel Hoffman, Deven Ignacio-Castillo, Jared Johnson, Brinn Lahr, Shemaiah Lara and Emma Schmiedel, along with Lydia Staudt and Hannah Jones.

Ragan Hintgen completed 150 hours or more of community service during her four years at Charles City High School and is the class’s single Silver Cord honoree.

Members of the National Honor Society are Gea Goldberg Calpito, Rachel Anne Chambers, Chase Alan Crooks, Ragan Elizabeth Hintgen, Rachel Marie Hoffman, Jared Jacob Johnson, Hannah Faye Jones, Hannah Grace Lahner, Brinn Rachelle Lahr, Aliyah Jan Reyes Ortiola, Emma Marie Schmiedel and Lydia Ann Staudt.

Honor students who attained a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 to 3.49 are Ian Collins, Jackson Cook, Jason Friedrich, Rylie Gohr Vetter, Susana Gonzalez, Calvin Hanson, Ragan Hintgen. Christian Howe, Brandon Ignacio-Castillo, Michellel Jones, Brayton Quade, Lajoya Richard, Karson Schmidt, Aaliyah Schmitt, Jakob Sindlinger, Katie Sindt and Alyvia Vance.

Honor students who attained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher and who wore a Gold Cord are: Kaylee Anderson, Tyrell Baglan, Gea Calpito, Rachel Chambers, Chase Crooks, Colton Crooks, Callista Diercks, Jermaine Dizon, Stephanie Field, Brady Frascht, Rachel Hoffman, Jaxon Houdek, Deven Ignacio-Castillo, Jared Johnson, Hannah Jones, Hannah Lahner, Brinn Lahr, Shemaiah Lara, Aliyah Ortiola, Clayton Rand, Emma Schmiedel, Lydia Staudt and Jacob Toepfer.

Charles City High School graduates 92 in Class of 2022
Clayton Rand delivers one of the senior addresses at the Charles City High School commencement ceremony Sunday afternoon at the Comet Gym.
Charles City High School graduates 92 in Class of 2022
Michellel Jones delivers one of the senior addresses at the Charles City High School commencement ceremony Sunday afternoon at the Comet Gym.

Clayton Rand and Michellel Jones were the commencement speakers, chosen by their classmates and the staff, according to Principal Bryan Jurrens.

“If you didn’t know, Michellel and I won best smile for the yearbook, so it’s only right that we’re here representing the Class of 2022 with our pretty faces,” Rand started out joking.

Rand reflected on “the moments that helped shape us into the people we are today – whether it was a moment of triumph, heartbreak, embarrassment or joy,” and how those moments were shared with other members of their class.

He urged his classmates to remember the people at the high school – the teachers and coaches and others who have helped shape their lives – and he asked them to tell those teachers and coaches and each other what they mean to them, to and make a promise, when it’s time to depart, to go with an “Until next time,” and to see them again.

“We go out into the world and we will meet more people, more mentors, more coaches and teachers, but do not forget your promise. As it connects you to the people, you are also connected to the city,” Rand said. “Charles City isn’t the biggest, or the best, but it is where I spent the best years of my life, and I am proud to call myself a Comet. We are CC.”

Jones said, “One thing that stays in my mind is the struggles that we had along the way. And not because of what they were, but because who they made us become. For the past 13 years of school, every person in this room has had trouble in some way. Whether that be at home, in the classroom, on the playground, or just with yourself.

“Learning to be yourself, regardless of the world’s opinion, is a part of high school. … “Struggling is what high school is. Being passionate is what life is. And making it through is what makes it all worth it,” Jones said.

“Be loving and caring in your time away from Charles City. And support and advocate for the community to maybe join you. And above all else, support and advocate the communities that you are not a part of,” she said.

“Use this experience to grow into kind and loving people, regardless of what those words mean to you. Be glad that we did this together, and celebrate the years of triumph, because, after all, you deserve it.

“Congratulations to the Class of 2022, and make the world yours. And continue to struggle in the ways that you always have, because in some way, shape or form, it will make the world a better place,” Jones said.

The Class of 2022 graduates are: Breanna Marie Anderson, Kaylee Mychelle Anderson, Tyrell Rosch Baglan, Mya Belle Baker-Neve, Asher Dominic Berche, Kaleb Craig Bilharz, Cael James Bohlen, Keegan David Bormann, Amelia Elizabeth Brown;

Also Elena Nicole Calixtro, Gea Goldberg Calpito, Rachel Anne Chambers, Trimel Antione Christian, Ian James Collins, Jackson Tate Cook, Tristen George Cook, Chase Alan Crooks, Colton Leroy Crooks;

Also Jaxon Robert Daniels, Erica File David, Callista Christie Diercks, Jermaine Calpito Dizon, Keagen James Dykstra, Nathan James Ferch, Stephanie JoAnn Field, Jessica Ilene Foster, Griffin Lee Franksain, Brady James Frascht, Brody Evan Frascht, Jason Alexander Friedrich, Rylie Mykaela Gohr Vetter, Susana Gonzalez;

Also Dalton Craig Haberkorn, Calvin William Hanson, Kaylee Ann Hennick, Kaleb Michael Herman, Jose Angel Hernandez, Ragan Elizabeth Hintgen, Mario De’Shawn Hoefer, Rachel Marie Hoffman, Lillian Ann Houck, Jaxon Scott Houdek, Christian James Howe, Christian Justice Hughes;

Also Brandon Michael Ignacio-Castillo, Deven Anthony Ignacio-Castillo, Jared Jacob Johnson, Madison Jo Marie Johnson, Hannah Faye Jones, Jalil Tyree Jones, Michellel Perrianna Jones, Joanna Juarez, Lewis Arden Kiewel, Keetan Michael Kirby, Connor Dale Kirsch, Ryan David Kvernevig;

Also Hannah Grace Lahner, Brinn Rachelle Lahr, Shemaiah Jasmine Estaris Lara, Malcolm Jeremy Lopez, Landon Jurgen Luft, Emma Leigh Miller, Brayden James Moding, Sofia Joy Nelson;

Also Jenna Michelle Olerich, Aliyah Jan Reyes Ortiola, Layne Marie Osier, Nicolas Paul Prior, Brayton Robert Quade, Clayton Jon Rand, Lajoya Sue Richard, Dillan Charles Ross;

Also Karson Cruz Schmidt, Keaton Ellis Schmidtke, Emma Marie Schmiedel, Aaliyah Marie Schmitt, Shya Antonia Simmons, Jakob Matthew Sindlinger, Katie Irene Sindt, Alexandra Lynn Smith, Lydia Ann Staudt, Jonathan Lee Stewart, Courtney Shea Stoneburner, Hunter Lee Sullivan;

Also Celestino Ismael Tamayo, Kiannah Rose Tobin, Jacob Ryan Toepfer, Jacob Taylor Vais, Alyvia Lynn Vance, Leslie Villagomez-Guerrero, Taylor Eugene Warnke, Trevor Thomas White.

An empty chair with a rose among the students was in memory of Carla Lynn Nash.

Social Share