Posted on



1. Final four

And so we come down to the fourth and final segment of the Chase, the Championship Round. There will be 43 cars in the field, but only four drivers eligible for Sprint Cup Series title honors. The Fab Four are Kevin Harvick, Jeff Gordon, Kyle Busch and Martin Truex Jr. The rules are simple. The highest finishing driver at Homestead, among the four eligible, will be crowned Cup Series champion. Boys, have at it.

2. Driver storylines

Each of the four drivers has a story. Harvick is the defending Cup Series champion.

Jeff Gordon can retire with his fifth career title. Truex is in the championship mix even though he drives for a single-car team. Busch missed the first 11 races due to an injury. NASCAR can’t whiff here.

3. Auld Lang Syne

This will be the last race for some drivers with certain teams and in one case, the last race for the team. Most notably, Homestead will be the final race for the Michael Waltrip Racing operation.

Clint Bowyer's future is secured for 2016 and beyond. But for David Ragan and Sam Hornish, we'll see you whenever and wherever.

Will 2014 champion Kevin Harvick once again hold the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series title tropny in 2015? It is one of four interesting storylines to follow at Homestead. ROBERT LABERGE/NASCAR VIA GETTY IMAGES

— Godwin Kelly, [email protected]

Social Share