Posted on

Henry, Watson, King among 5 Walter Camp finalists BRIEFLY

Henry, Watson, King among 5 Walter Camp finalists


Alabama running back Derrick Henry, Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson, Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey and Iowa cornerback Desmond King are the five finalists for the Walter Camp player of the year award. The Walter Camp award is voted on by FBS head coaches and sports information directors, and the winner will be announced Dec. 10.

Henry, considered the Heisman Trophy favorite, leads the nation in touchdowns with 22 going into the Southeastern Conference championship game Saturday.

Watson has accounted for 36 touchdowns for No. 1 Clemson. McCaffrey leads the nation in all-purpose yards with 3,305 for No. 7 Stanford. Mayfield has passed for 3,389 and 35 touchdowns for the Big 12 champions. King leads the nation with eight interceptions for No. 4 Iowa.

Iowa’s CJ Beathard and the fourth-ranked Hawkeyes (120, 8-0, No. 4 CFP) face the fifth-ranked Spartans (11-1, 7-1, No. 5) in a virtual play-in matchup for the playoff.

“I’ve got respect for him.

He’s a good quarterback,” Beathard said of Cook. “He throws the ball really well and he finds his receivers. It’s a tribute to him.”

Michigan State senior quarterback Connor Cook has been a star for years, pegged by many as an NFL draft pick. Iowa’s C.J. Beathard spent two seasons as a backup. He’s still somewhat unknown.

Social Share